Chocolate Cherry Fruit & Nut Balls

Standard

I like to have healthy snacks around at all times in the house that are easy to grab for my family and I.  Until recently one of those go to snacks were Lara bars which are yummy date and nut based bars…why until recently?  Well I was very disappointed to find out that they (along with other brands that many people thought were trustworthy choices) are AGAINST labeling of GMO (genetically modified foods)!  The article here from Elephant Journal lists many brands whose parent companies (like General Mills which owns Lara Bars) have been donating big money to GMO supporters :(  So, I decided rather than spend my money supporting these companies, I’m just going to make my own date and nut based snacks!  With that, the chocolate cherry date & nut ball was born!!  You can make any flavour you want by switching up the dried fruit and nuts/seeds you use, I have a few new flavour combos I want to try out in the future.


Chocolate Cherry Date & Nut Balls Recipe

8-10 dates, pitted

½ cup dried cherries – try other dried fruit like raisins, apricots or cranberries

1 ½ cup raw nuts – any combo – I used mostly almonds with pecans and cashews

¼ cup unsweetened shredded coconut

2 tbsp raw cocao nibs

1 tbsp cocoa powder (optional)

1 tsp cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until it is broken down enough to stick together when rolled into balls.  You can make them into bars too instead, I just liked the bite-sized balls :)  Voila!  A healthy, tasty, protein filled snack!

ENJOY! XO

One response »

  1. Pingback: 10 Ideas for Healthy Kid-Friendly Snacks « whole-y momma!

Leave a Reply

